The curling season is now officially over in this area and with Ontario's Al Hackner topping off a very successful season for Canada by taking our third world title of this year, I guess we could safely say it's over most everywhere. It has been a good season and we wound it up in a very fitting manner recently with the Legion One-Day Fun 'Spiel. When you get along in years they're all fun since most guys that play in the seniors' leagues play if for that reason.

PP-

Sixteen rinks played three six-end games each in two sections. Thanks to our good friend, Terry Hughes, we had quite a number of pretty good prizes to distribute to the winning rinks and even some for those who didn't fare too well. We had excellent response from the Castlegar, Fruitvale and Trail branches as they sent 22 players to bring us up to the 64 needed to put 16 rinks on the ice.

First place on the right side was taken by the Phil Bateman rink with Cleve Cowland third, Norm McLeod of Trail second, and Bert Robson of Trail lead. Second place went to M ike Kraftchick's foursome with Rich Watkinson third, Bud Smith of Fruitvale second, and Chuck Harkness lead.

On the left side it was the Arnie Sherwood rink with Gene Mauriello third, Bernie Fourt second and Bob Glover, playing his first-ever curling game, as lead. Second place went to the Angus Popplewell rink with John Bruce third, Ken Mc-Cullagh of Fruitvale second, and Lloyd McLellan lead.

After it was all over we were treated to one of our ladies' fantastic stews for supper. The 'spiel continued into the late hours as we talked over the good shots and the bad ones.

The Retirees Club wound up its season with a spaghetti feed, a noon luncheon masterminded by our good pal, Vic Mattiazzi, that was a real credit to his culinary art. I don't have all the data on the winners of our various awards, but I shall have them next week and will fill you in on them then.

Meanwhile, I have the results of the Men's Club winners. In the Comineo Shield, it was the Alfie Albo rink with third Ivan Bell, second Tony Topolinski, and lead Adrian Van Der Zalm. This rink also took first in the MLA's Trophy and the St. Michelle Trophy with the Jim Albo rink with Ron Holm third, Barry Seal second, and Ian Pond lead, taking second in the Cominco and St. Michelle. The Bill Vickers foursome with Arnie Sherwood third, Terry Vickers second, and Jim Markle lead, took second in the MLA's. The Jim Albo rink won the Rossland Cup with Bill Vickers second. All rinks stayed together all season.

I spent a very pleasant evening when I attended the Rossland Minor Hockey Banquet. There were a full quota of players, parents, and coaches in attendance along with acting president Gary Westbury, secretary Peggy Lenarduzzi, treasurer Jim Fitzgerald adn Jean Eddy and Howie Mc-Meekin of the Board of Directors. The kids were noisy, but did you ever go to a party for kids that wasn't? Kids are built that way. Jim Roller of the Trail Esso said he was very happy to be a guest and was glad to see the Esso people supporting Minor Hockey.

Coaches for the Novice Division were John Stanton, Howie McMeekin and Bob Williams and all were high in their praise of their charges. Howie cited the persistence of the youngsters and John said everyone of them deserves a medal. Bob said he hoped they would all be back and bring a friend. Trophy winners were Billy Profili, Jarrod Stanton and Colin Eddy for MVP, Shane Seal and Ryan Paolini were named most sportsmanlike, and most improved medallions went to Steven Robinson, Jarrett and Jason Zanussi.

with

Harry Peoper Upnt 12/85

In the Atoms, Don Wert and Dave Hickey were in charge. Kevin Wert and Aaron McFarland were the MVP's, Michael McQueen and Brett Johnson were the most sportsmanlike, and Aaron Ling and Shawn VonDiebitsch were most improved. The kids all thanked their coaches.

The Pee Wees were coached by Rich Chobanuk and managed by Art McNeil. Lyle Feeney was MVP, Aaron McQueen and Michael McNeil were most sportsmanlike and John Bontron and Noel Salsiccioli were most improved.

In the Bantams, coached by Geoff Chambers, Dave Yuris was MVP, Mark McAuley was most sportsmanlike and Ty Zanussi most improved.

The various coaches were presented with awards for their fine job by director Jean Eddy and it wound up another very successful season for the R.M.H.A., awards and trophies too numerous to mention here were won by teams in all the divisions.

I would like to thank everyone connected for the invitation and express my admiration for the job everyone is doing.

I want to accept the responsibility for not having the column in last week. It was all my fault; it was typed early Tuesday and it laid around the house until I took it to Trail on the 12:30 bus on Wednesday. This was too late for the Thursday paper.

Anyway, to fill in one spot I promised in last week's copy, I have the Retiree winners now. I don't have all the personnel but I have the skigs. Bob Stevenson's rink too the first competition, Angus Popplewell the second, Phil Bateman the third, and Angus repeated in the regular final, an added competition to fill out the season saw a possible three-way tie for the rotation. It turned into a twoway affair with Angus' rink and mine. My third, Cleve Cowland, made all the points to win that one for us.

The golf season is now underway locally and I have played 27 holes so far. Possibly more by the time you read this. Rich Watkinson and I went out on Saturday and were partnered with Eric Kohlman and Kevin Franson for our first time. Then on Sunday we went along with Bob Glover and his sonin-law Lawrence McAuley and played 18. We took a look at the upper course and there is a lot of snow around down there but if this good weather keeps up we should be on there by the end of the month or sooner.

Now, back to curling for a moment.

Gary Seefeldt has pictures of the One-Day 'Spiel winners. They may be seen at the Legion. Just ask the girls behind the bar and if you wish to purchase any just talk to Gary.

From Mildred Martin comes the following:

Winners of the Branch 14 L.A. Easter Basket draw were: Bobby McQuiag and Mike Mouland, two little people. Shirley Purdy won the cake, and I understand, didn't even get a bite of it while the door prize went to N. Neugebauer.

Now, I'll say, Till next time, then!