with larry opper

Last weekend's Slo-Pitch tournament, held in four parks in Rossland, touched a large number of our citizens in one way or another.

The tournament started with 16 teams. Rossland had to form an extra team to fill the spot vacated by a Vernon no-show.

There had been a welcoming party at the arena Friday night but that didn't deter the eager players from being on deck as eight teams took the field in the opening round. All 16 had seen action by noon, eight losers then faced elimination in their next round.

However it was Sunday morning before the first casualties began to appear on the board.

There were five teams from Rossland, one each from Calgary, Trail, Salmon Arm and Elkford, three from Vernon and four from Kamloops.

I have to pay tribute to the excellent way all the details of a tournament of this size were managed, the committee, headed by Ken Dixon and Cam Jensen, did a remarkable job.

The friendly atmosphere of the tournament grows more evident every year as old friends from around the country get together to renew acquaintances.

The good rapport among the teams is plainly evident, its a fun tournament but that does nothing to dull keenness of the competitors.

This year the champion's mantle went to a team from Rossland.

Decked out in their Kelly green uniforms and dubbed the Miners, the team went through the tourney undefeated to take home the beautiful trophy which is emblematic of the Rossland Slo-Pitch tourney championship.

It took a three-run homer by Don Casey in the third extra inning to push them to victory in the final over the Kamloops Kats. They wound up the celebration with an impromptu victory parade out in front of the curling rink where the refreshment area was located.

Players taking part in the winning run of the Miners, besides Casey, were Ken Penner, Gary Urquhart, Bill Lyle, Tommy Lepage, Rob Valentine, Norm Wolford, Peter Dunn, Kelly Schultz, Scott Leyland, Rob Waugh and Howie Karn.

Other Rossland teams in the tourney were Super-Scrap, Legion Royals, Payless and Lotex.

Someone will never forgive me if I don't mention our refreshment crew. Freddie and Viv Thompson, Joe Thalman, Chuck Harknes, Henry Matthews and yours truly.

Down at the Upper Course on Tuesday we had balls for Honey Pot points, low, net, low gross and most honest golfer. Thirty-nine golfers from the Retiree ranks assembled for a fine day of the grandest game on earth and when it was all over Bill Limacher had won HP points with 30, Jack Barnes was the low net winner with 33. Herbie St. Jean had a 44 to take low gross and Henry Matthews was the most honest.

Next week's play will be kinda special as we celebrate "Pat" Morris day at the upper course on Tuesday. A shotgun start at nine a.m. will feature some special events that are sponsored by the donor every season at this time. It is expected that well over 100 retirees from around the country will be on hand.

Lacrosee is Canada's national game. One of the hotbeds of the game in the Kootenays is Rossland. Despite the demise of the OK league in which the Redmen played last season.

Wednesday the annual Dominion Day game took place at Rossland arena. It was a high-scoring affair as the Orwell-Beaver Falls All-Stars came on strong in the closing stages to beat the Redmen 20-13. The big goalgetter was the All-Stars' Tim McNulty. He scored seven times, potting four in the first period and three in the third, team-mate Peter Corrado added three as did Mike Amos and Grant Fines.

Grant Johnson and Hughie Small got three apiece for the Redmen and Joe Letoria was a big helping hand with a goal and eight assists. Greg Stein and Doug DeGans came up with a lot of sparkling saves as the play swung from end to end.

After the game, I talked for some time with long-time lacrosse great Paul Seymour. He would sure like to see the game prosper in our area and will do anything he can to help.

The lineups for the game

Redmen — Greg Stein, Hugh Small, Greg Galpin, Grant Johnson, Morley Levick, Dan Shepherd, Pete Bourchier, Rick Leduc, Mark Haynes, Joe Letoria and Phil Sandahl.

The All-Stars waere Doug DeGans, Mike Amos, Grant Fines, Bill Sherwood, Peter Corrado, Roger Woodhouse, Wes Nadigel, Dave Price, Brian Johnson, Tim Mc-Nulty and Dave Lipyschak.